agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Journal Entry: Take Your Time

Leave a comment

Well, I see I am not alone in my wish to balance work life and home life. Yesterday, the National Council of Teachers of English posted a request on their Facebook wall asking for ideas to do just that. A couple of people answered that teaching math was the solution. I smiled at that. While it’s true that math teachers don’t have volumes of essays to grade, they don’t get to discuss great literature, write poetry, and see the growth of writers throughout a few months either. And, while I am a teacher of all subjects, I know that time gets away from all of us, no matter what subject we teach.

And oh that time is valuable.

Yesterday, I spent time lying on the bench of my picnic table, looking up at the pecan tree branches above me. I stayed there for quite a  long time.  I watched a blue tailed lizard peek in out of the space where an old thermometer is nailed to the trunk of a tree. Butterflies darted. Yellow  leaves were blowing across the field, and danced in the air before dropping gracefully one by one. I wanted to video it or get at least a picture, but I didn’t want to miss a movement. It was that beautiful. Over and over, leaves took flight and the sun caught them on their way. That scene is imprinted in my mind’s eye.

I felt recharged when I finally decided to go inside and get ready for the day ahead. Those moments and images stayed with me all day through a medical appointment, errands, a meeting at the university. Some might say they don’t have time for that. They are too busy. I agree. They are definitely too busy if they don’t have time to take some time to watch the world around them, to listen to the cicadas sing their song, to hear the random early dropping of pecans on a tin roof.

We all have the same number of hours in a day. I accomplished every thing I needed to yesterday, and still made time for me. I am still thinking of those yellow leaves moving silently and taking flight. There is a message there, and I am ready to follow where it is taking me.

 

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

