agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Teaching Tip: Lighten Up

Leave a comment

A-maze-ing Laughter

A-maze-ing Laughter (Photo credit: weezerthewonderful)

The best reminder of how we should teach, or not teach, comes through workshops before school starts.

It is so easy to get discouraged or frustrated as you move from room to room listening to the latest technique you will implement, the newest schedule you will follow.

After a particularly daunting day of new information and expectations, and while in the middle of learning how to create a prezi ( yes, super cool… but doubtful I’ll get one going by meet the teacher night–you would understand if you could see my room right now), a colleague whispered, “How do new teachers make it…there’s just so much to do!”

How do they do it? They do it like most of us who have done it for a while do. They laugh.

Look, there are only so many hours in a day. At some point, you make decisions about what you can accomplish based on what your students need.

It is not possible to do it all.

Notice that no one ever volunteers to come to your room for a few days and show you how to do it all.

It goes back to more than one college professor who told us,”Go into your room, shut that door, and teach.” Those words are truer today than ever before.

There’s a lot we can’t control, but I can control my reaction to the newest quick fix.

Laughter is a very good medicine, and it’s how I choose to start this year.

I’ll greet my students with a conspiratorial smile, and we’ll rock this school year. I guarantee you when I lighten up and teach my heart out, they will learn. They always do.

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

