agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Journal Entry: Firefly

Leave a comment

A firefly on an evening walk. How can that be such a big deal? Well, it’s my message from nature, and I’m paying attention.

I have taken walks all summer and have not seen one firefly. Not one. Believe me, I always watch for them. They are a sign of hope as well as a reminder of my childhood days.

A few weeks ago, I made the decision to really try harder this school year to spend time at home doing things I enjoy. Taking walks is one of those things, and while I have not been able to fit in too many early morning walks yet, I have been out at night. It’s a new gift, really.

I see the branches of trees in a different dusky light, the crickets are louder, the dogs are surprised but happily trail along anyway. It’s cooler for them.

I’m on a path to keeping promises to myself and last night I was rewarded with one bright glimmering of light.

I can’t think of a better sign to the start of a new school year.

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

