agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Teaching Tip: Poetry Builds Fluency

Leave a comment

I want to read Things by Eloise Greenfield. We know it!

This comment from a child in my Response to Intervention group made my morning.

I teach a group of seven fourth graders for 45 minutes each morning in a small group setting. Their reading levels range from Preprimer to 1.7.

Yes. It’s scary.

I’m finding a way to bring them along,
though. The children bring their poetry books to our group.

We spend a few minutes each day reading and rereading favorites.

It’s helping. The repetitive language, familiarity, rhythm, and rhyme all work together to get the kids reading.

They see words on a page and there aren’t too many. There’s a beat. It makes sense.
And today, there was recognition of an author. 🙂

I always knew poetry was the answer to most everything…

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

