agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Arts Integration is Always a Good Idea

Leave a comment

Today I spent the day at an arts integration professional development training.

It was wonderful.

Our instructor, Marcia Daft,
led us through math concepts using movement. We learned how to manipulate Lycra bands in order to show all kinds of geometry concepts.

An added bonus was all of the listening and following directions skills that are strengthened through teaching this way.

I’m always ready to learn a new way to teach, particularly when the arts are involved.

We relearned reflections, symmetry, angles, and shapes today in a most calm and focused way.

Marcia led us through a step by step process that was collaborative, engaging, and thought provoking.

I often struggle with spatial concepts even though I use those same concepts in my art and sewing. Today, I have new understanding.

We used our bodies and our minds and made connection after connection.

Today was one of those bonus days in a teacher’s life. I’m glad we have people out in the world promoting creative ways to teach.

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

