agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Serendipity and Rosa Parks

Leave a comment

My lesson was planned last week: read Nikki Giovanni’s Rosa and show the kids how one author introduces us to a character.

I reread the book, made notes about points to make: the repetition, poetic language, text references to Rumplestiltskin, to Brown vs. the Board of Education.

I was ready.

Then I open the newspaper this morning and see an editorial commemorating Rosa Parks’ 100th birthday. Today.

And I smiled.

Teachers know these kinds of things happen all of the time. There’s a force somewhere that is in our corner, leading us to find the right connection at the right time.

It happens all the time.

Happy birthday, Rosa.

Thanks for adding a whole lot to my lesson today. And for reminding me that I love this job.

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

