agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Teaching Tip: Enjoy Spring Break

Leave a comment

It’s spring break, and this teacher is glad.

Glad for moments of realization that, while I enjoy teaching, I enjoy many other things, too.

Glad for time to get acclimated to this Daylight Savings Time intrusion.

Glad for the growing list of sightings: cardinals, a monarch and a swallowtail, gold finches, mockingbirds, and deer tracks.

Glad for time to celebrate my husband’s birthday this week.

Glad to be here in the morning to watch my old childhood home take its leave; it will be hard to watch, but I can’t imagine not watching.

Glad for fabric and paints and journals. And for friends who know I need them.

Okay, I am doing one “teachery” thing:
keeping a record of the days, so I have something to share with my writers when we get back on Monday.
I hope they remember me as a teacher who loved them, who wanted a real
education for them, and who tried to show them there’s always much more than they think.

Here’s to real lives and time to make sense of them.

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

