agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Friday’s Five

Leave a comment

What would we do without laughter, LL?
This question tonight from my precious cousin Barbara. She’s 78 ( although we had to subtract to make sure it wasn’t 79) and she remains in her 40s/50s in my mind’s eye.
She’s one of my Friday’s Five tonight.
She lost her daughter to pancreatic cancer this week, but cancer won’t win against her…ever.
Laugh in the face of everything.
My husband laughs, too…and makes me laugh every day. Every day. The sound of his laughter when he and the kids are telling stories is one of my favorite sounds.
My friend Paula tells a story every day in the midst of job losses and illness and political games. She wins too. People tell her to write a book. She should. She wrote a poem about our program restructuring that would make Dr. Seuss grin.
This isn’t my traditional Friday’s Five, I realize. But, these aren’t traditional days either. They are heart-wrenching ones, ones where every laugh is necessary…
My friends Jo and Al sent white and yellow lilies, pink tulips, a bouquet of
good wishes to us today. A man I’ve known for decades delivered them…with his large poodle strapped in the front seat. His name is Scooter and he is a floral artist extraordinaire. He had a bag vac attached to himself tonight…in the process of killing a staph infection.
There’s so much going on in these mismatched days. I see the agony. I feel it. But I am determined to see the whole life…the life of laughter, lilies that smell like the piece of heaven they are, a black poodle, nicknames, and determination. Five excellent reminders of goodness, dear readers. Keep walking.

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

