agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Many Boxes…Many Friends

Leave a comment

Friends who come at a moment’s notice: I am blessed to say I have more than my share.
Tonight Alicia, Angela, and Elizabeth showed up to help Sara and me pack up my classroom.

It’s a daunting task. I have accumulated a few things over 30 years.
Someone decided this would be the year to have every teacher move rooms. We need to have it all ready to go by next week. Lovely.
But, in that, another lesson.
Two gigantic trash cans full with more to come. Dozens of boxes of materials given away. More to come.
No one needs so much stuff.
I gave with no sense of regret. The people I’m passing things on to are great teachers who are appreciative.
I’m glad I can give to them.

These friends came and started ripping posters off walls, throwing books and papers into cardboard boxes. No judging. No remarks about how to do it better. They came, they helped, they saved my day.
They say they’ll come back to help in the fall. Because they are that great.
If you saw what they put in boxes, you’d understand how great.
Alicia texted me to say she’d write lesson plans, make copies…if you are a teacher, you know what a gift that is.
To know someone who would offer that.

Everything is in a state of change: my life at home with a husband with cancer, my job (unsure where I’m teaching in the fall), all this clutter.
But this is how it is.
It’s another moment of clarity for me.
In the midst of the mess, (and it is one hell of a mess I’m in here), I feel a sense of peace knowing I’m not alone.
My friends show me they are willing to carry me when I can’t manage it all any more.
They come, put things in boxes, hug me, and walk out. And they promise to come back. I know the blessing in that.

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

