agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Channeling My Folks

Leave a comment

My parents were “take care of it” kind of people. Workers. Intelligent.
They had no patience for idiots or bureaucracy. They believed in honesty and integrity. Respect.
I remember finding copies of letters my father wrote to the Veteran’s Administration decades ago. Those letters outlined his concern for proper medical treatment for veterans, even then. They were not getting it.
Mama wrote her representatives frequently after Daddy died. She took to heart the notion that they were there for that very reason–to represent–and she held them to it.
It didn’t matter if it was a Social Security question, a college related issue for my sister or me, or if she needed help navigating the red tape circus of health care; she wrote.
And you know what? She received help.
So. It’s my turn.
Health care is broken…regardless of your political beliefs. Believe me, it is broken.
I have emails in to two representatives, and I surely hope I get a response soon. As in by next week.
My eyes are opened wider each day to the mess that is known as insurance.
And, join me in being enlightened:
An insurance representative, a home health nurse, a social worker all suggest
applying for Medicare benefits.
Imagine my surprise to learn there is a 29 month waiting period unless one has ALS. How many cancer patients do you know that have that kind of time?
I won’t get started on health insurance coverage except to say this:
Know your rights. Know the process.
And yes ma’am or sir, know your representatives and get them involved.
Things must change.
I’m grateful to my folks for teaching me to question, to write, to be an advocate.
To never give up.
I don’t give up. Look out.

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

