agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Sunday’s Song: Images

Leave a comment

We are back home after a week in Little Rock. Sam took chemo as an inpatient this time. So far, so good…or as good as anything associated with chemo can be.

Images come to mind from this day…the first one disturbing, so reader, stop here if you must.

As soon as I drove up, Queen bounded up to meet us.

With a rabbit in her mouth.

Good grief.
Gone in an instant. Terrible to see.

I know, I know. But this is life in the country…sometimes those bunnies do not hop fast enough.

I get exasperated, but if it was a snake or a mole in her mouth, not so much. Hmmm.
Interesting.
~~~~~~~

The bald ladies and gentlemen in Infusion Lab 4, our stop off after discharge today. Sam needed a shot
( as outpatient so insurance can be happy, happy, happy with their coding),
and while we waited, I saw a lot.
A lot of cubicles where chemo is given. Where blood is drawn. A lot, folks. A maze of places ready for the next patient.
Some waited with masks. Of course.
One lady was sound asleep, curled up on one of the sofas nearby. Not your typical Sunday nap. Remember her.
~~~~~~

Jigsaw puzzles on the tables, half finished…waiting on the next person who has enough energy (or desire) to move a piece from here to there.
~~~~~

The young guy dressed in his hospital gown and bottoms, smoking on the roof of the parking garage as we left. Several bags were hanging from his IV pole… and yet, as a smoker from many decades ago, I do understand. Does it bother me? Yes.
But I do understand the addiction.
It’s so easy to judge, not so easy to understand.
~~~~~

If you’ve read this far, I’d like to leave you hopeful. There were good images too.

Our former priest visited again
and brought communion to us…the white host a reminder of all we need, all we have.
~~~~~

A pottery cup with coffee tonight. Not styrofoam, thank you.
~~~~~

Semi frozen fruit, sugared and enjoyed in a small drinking glass…a privilege I enjoy from time to time.
~~~~~

A table full of mail from the past week… but among the bills and familiar hospital reminder envelopes, there are parcels and colored envelopes…proof again of love and effort across many miles.
~~~~~

Empty hummingbird feeders with visitors darting impatiently. I’ll give them this: they know I’m coming back.
They have hope.

Good Lord willing…

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

