agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

Open Your Eyes: A Lenten Journey 3/4/2017 (Saturday)

Leave a comment

The first week of Lent 2017 is coming to a close. Today was a day of highs and lows. 

Emma, grandchild #2, was baptized today. Such a celebration of love, faith, and family. It was truly a time of joy! I watched as her godparents held her, prayed over her, welcomed her into a family of faith. I watched as her godfather threw money into the air for the other children to catch…a Mexican custom as my daughter in law explained, “so Emma will never be stingy.” I learn so much every day. So much to know!

And, as life has showed me over and over, every  day is not perfect. My daughter’s beloved dog Ada has gone missing. It is unlike her to stray far from our house, but she has been absent for the better part of the day now. I miss her. 

I saw again today how God hears so many prayers in the course of a day because in my litany to him today I was praising him for the gift of baptism, asking him to cure some friends who are fighting cancer, and yes…asking him to please send Ada back to us.

I don’t think we have to prioritize our prayers. God knows what we need before the words even form in our minds. I’m pretty sure he understands love for his creatures, big and small. 

Tomorrow is Sunday, and I only learned in the past few years that Sundays are “little Easters” so we really have a break  from the fasting, penance, and almsgiving of Lent. I find it funny that my mom never mentioned this to me. I guess she knew I needed the structure of continuous sacrifice. 🙂 

Whatever you decide to do tomorrow, I hope you’ll join me in opening your eyes to the gifts of life that we enjoy. I’ll be back here on Monday, God willing. 

Peace. 

Author: agnestirrito

I write. Make art. And in between, I do the best I can. ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

