agnestirrito

"Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it, because action has magic, grace, and power in it." Goethe

April 4, 2019: She. Was. Three. #justiceforkinley

Leave a comment

https://www.lorenwebster.net/In_a_Dark_Time/2017/01/19/naomi-shihab-nyes-rain/

I found this post written by blogger Loren Webster. She did not write it in reference to what I am writing about tonight, but her words struck a chord about the nature of what so many children endure. How prevalent child abuse is.

I was searching for words, even though I know there are not enough words to convey the unconscionable nature of some horrific acts many children experience in their lives.

One local child, Kinley, age 3, died at the hands of two adults who should have been the hands of love to her.

My heart has been overcome with sadness as this story unfolds. To know that people are capable of such evil overwhelms me.

What can we do?

The local police department asks us to wear blue tomorrow, Friday, April 5, 2019 to honor her memory and to bring awareness that April is Child Abuse Prevention Month.

I know. It’s not enough.

People are bringing up the need for more foster care…true. But still not enough.

The truth is there is nothing that is enough.

I cared for my grandchildren today, and realized at a deeper level what loving them really means. What loving every human really means.

It is not trite.

It is no small thing.

It is a gateway for goodness.

We should never take it for granted.

Of course I will wear blue for Kinley.

I ask you to join me.

#justiceforkinley

Please pray for all who suffer from abusive situations.

Leave a comment